14/02 - 30/09

International Composition Competition Franco Evangelisti


Composers of any age and nationality are eligible.
The competition is reserved to works written for one instrument and electronics, not exceeding a duration of 15 minutes.

Instruments allowed include:

  •  flute (and/or piccolo, G-flute, lower-C-flute)
  • oboe (and/or English horn)
  • clarinet (and/or bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet)
  • bassoon (and/or contrabassoon)
  • alto saxophone (and/or soprano, tenor, baryton)
  • trumpet
  • trombone
  • guitar (and/or electric guitar)
  • harp
  • accordion
  • piano
  • violin
  • viola
  • cello
  • double-bass

The electronic music part may involve either fixed audio media (i.e. “tape”) or live electronics (i.e. processing devices, controllers, etc.), with sound diffusion across 2 to 8 independent channels. Submitted scores should include a clear description of the technical setup and a detailed list of the necessary equipment. Should a work with live electronics be admitted to the final concert, the composer is required to take part in the performance. In which case, Nuova Consonanza will provide assistants and will make any reasonable effort to support the composer’s participation and match technical requirements; the composer, however, is expected to provide any specially designed software and hardware resources possibly involved.  

Multiple submissions are allowed. Submitted works can have already been performed in public, but they should be unpublished and should not have received awards in previous contests.

Submissions are to be made via email only. Scores and all accompanying documents (written in Italian, English or French) should be sent as PDF files to the following address: concorsoevangelisti@nuovaconsonanza.it

Please do not send audio files in the email. The email text should include one or more links to audio contents made available on the internet (make sure you are providing complete and actually extant URLs). You are invited to provide a full performance stereo recording (however sketchy or provisional it might be, particularly for works with multichannel sound). For works involving fixed audio media, please also provide us with as many separate sound files as necessary, mono or stereo, with individual filenames clearly indicating the individual loudspeaker assignment.

The deadline for submissions is 30 September 2022 (23:59, Gmt +2).

A € 30 entry fee for each separate submitted work can be paid

via wire transfer to Associazione Nuova Consonanza IBAN IT44X0200805108000010653285 – BIC SWIFT: UNCRITM1719

Paypal: info@nuovaconsonanza.it


The jury committee will consist of five composers of largely recognized reputation (to be announced on the website www.nuovaconsonanza.it). Through an anonymous and independent evaluation process, the jurors will nominate a shortlist of three works. Nominated works will be performed in a final concert, as part of the 59th Festival di Nuova Consonanza (in December 2022, date to be announced). After the concert, the jury will proclaim the winner.  

The first prize comprises € 1.000 and publication of the score by Edizioni Suvini Zerboni, Milano.

The jury reserves the right not to nominate finalists and not to proclaim any prize winner. The jury also reserves the right to award ex-aequo prizes and to provide ‘special mentions’. The jury’s judgment is unquestionable.

In case of legal disputes, the competent forum is that of Rome. The original (Italian) version of the present call stands as the only source reference for legal disputes.



How to register

Scores are to be anonymous, but the first page should be clearly marked with a personal motto.

Submission documents are to include the following:

  • registration form, duly filled and signed
  • biographical note.
  • receipt of payment of the entry fee (details below);
  • copy of personal identity document
  • links to audio files (internet URLs)